​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

Alternative Educator Preparation Programs

​​Maryland has many approved pathways to teacher certification which appeal to those for whom a traditional four-year degree program is not feasible - such as career changers. Check out the programs below, including many school/college partnerships to see if you can find an alternative path to teach in Maryland!

​​​​​​
Alternative Program Contact Information
Anne Arundel County Public Schools & Anne Arundel Community College

Deborah Montgomery​
Email: dmontgomery@aacps.org
Phone: 410-721-8339

Karen Phelan​​
Email: kkphelan@aacc.edu
Phone: 410-777-1963

https://www.aacps.org/Page/2010#rtc2

Anne Arundel County Public Schools & Notre Dame of Maryland University​

Maureen Gerrity​
Email: mgerrity@aacps.org
Phone: 410-222-5481

Juliann Dupuis
Email: jdupuis@ndm.edu
Phone: 410-532-5148

https://www.aacps.org/Page/1135​

Baltimore City Public Schools & Bard College​

DJ Hills
Email: dhills@bhsec.bard.edu
Phone: 443-642-2062

https://bhsec.bard.edu/certification/​

Baltimore City Public Schools: The New Teacher Project (TNTP)​

Sean Nix
Email: Sean.nix@tntp.org​
Phone: 443-494-9739​

https://tntpteachingfellows.org/baltimore​

Baltimore City Public Schools: Teach For America, Johns Hopkins University

Joshua Crockett
Email: Joshua.crockett@teachforamerica.org
Phone: 410-622-7700

https://www.teachforamerica.org/where-we-work/baltimore​

Baltimore City Public Schools: Urban Teachers, Johns Hopkins University

Jessica Johnson
Email: Jessica.johnson@urbanteachers.org
Phone: 410-622-6600

https://urbanteachers.org/teach-in-baltimore/​

Montgomery County Public Schools & Montgomery College​

Debra Poese
Email: debra.poese@montgomerycollege.edu
Phone: 240-567-7269

https://www.montgomerycollege.edu/academics/abeess/school-of-education/alternative-certification-effective-teachers.html

Prince George’s County Public Schools & Notre Dame of Maryland University​

LaChon Winston
Email: lachon.winston@pgcps.org​ or resident.teacher@pgcps.org
Phone: 301-749-5238

Juliann Dupuis
Email: jdupuis@ndm.edu
Phone: 410-532-5148​

https://www.pgcps.org/teaching-residency/​

Prince George’s County Public Schools, Teach For America, Johns Hopkins University​

Kelley King 
Email: ​Kelley.king@teachforamerica.org
​Phone: 301-780-2727

David McDonald
Email: David.mcdonald@teachforamerica.org​
Phone: 404-518-5295

LaChon Winston
Email: lachon.winston@pgcps.org or resident.teacher@pgcps.org
Phone: 301-749-5238​

https://www.teachforamerica.org/where-we-work/dc-region

​Prince George's County Resident Teacher Program

​LaChon Winston
Email: lachon.winston@pgcps.org or resident.teacher@pgcps.org
Phone: 301-749-5238

https://www.pgcps.org/teaching-residency

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​